Biotest

Velocity Attempt - Healthy to Shredded

The title’s pretty nice, isn’t it? Let’s hope it’s prophetic, since I’m still in the very beginning of the Velocity diet, still adjusting supplement intake and fiber, etc…

For some background: I’m a healthy, fitness-oriented guy who normally eats a relatively healthy diet. I don’t eat candy, I don’t drink soda or energy drinks, I avoid starch and salt bombs and anything with high fructose corn syrup. I’ve been at about 12-15% body fat for at least 5 years while doing crossfit, starting strength, climbing, and various lifting. I’ve done Krav Maga, various sorts of yoga, and generally anything that keeps me moving and interested.

Basically, I can say I’m fit by the definition of fitness (how capable are you of performing various tasks). However, I’ve never seen my six pack (usually the top 4 are just sorta peeking out if I flex my abs). Oh, I suppose it helps to mention that I’m a software engineer, so I’m stuck in a chair for at least 8 hours every day…

Anyway, my company is having a biggest loser contest. I’m probably the lowest % body fat person there, and the most physically active. I was feeling apprehensive about taking part in the competition until I stumbled on the Velocity Diet page…Don’t even know how I ended up here. When I saw it, I immediately realized I could accomplish several goals at once:

• Reach 6% body fat for the first time in my life, thus freeing my abs from their padding, setting me up for better muscle gains next strength cycle, and making it easy for me to get up walls in climbing.

• Further refine my eating habits while testing my willpower. The challenge of making it through such a harrowing diet is almost reason enough to do it…Though I’m watching myself carefully so I don’t overdo it.

• Show others at work what a serious commitment to a diet can do even for someone who is already fit. Most of them could lost 20-40 lbs in a month on this, if they could make it through.