Biotest

Traveling on the V-Diet?

Hi all,

My line of work involves a lot of traveling on weekends. I’m a touring musician so I spend a lot of time in airports and on road trips and I’m forced to eat in hotels and gas stations and such.

I’ve managed to put off trying the V-Diet for a while now because of my tour schedule and I’m ready to give it a shot even though I’ll be traveling most every weekend in March.

Has anyone traveled while on the diet? Have any hints? I’m thinking what I’ll have to do is take a shaker bottle around with me and a ziploc bag with the measured out protein for the trip.

Thanks much,
Mikos

A single serving travel blender is very handy. About 16 or 17 bucks at Wal-Mart.

Bagging all your supplements is helpful too. You can even make one bag per day for Flameout, HOT-ROX, etc.

I’ve also measured out the Metabolic Drive I’ve needed, added it to a smaller container if it fits (saves suitcase space), then added in my Superfood directly to the protein powder. You could even do that with L-Leucine; just make sure it’s mixed in there well.

Shaker bottles are handy in a pinch, of course.

Mikos,

I started the diet on 11 Feb.

As my username implies, I travel a lot too, usually 10 days out of 30, internationally, with one or two 1-2 day trips as well in any given month. Usually flying, but since starting I’ve done one long road trip, from Texas back up to DC - 1350 miles in about 20 hours.

1. Your alertness drops off fast on this diet if you’re not getting lots of sleep, with concomitant declines in eye-hand coordination and reaction time. The body just doesn’t seem to have reserves, perhaps due to the glycogen depletion arising from low carb intake.

DON’T drive long distances. By hour 14 of my run up from Texas I was having hallucinations (pink dragons) and my hands were shaking. My buddy drove us the rest of the way in, I wrote the day off as a loss and had a scoop of mashed potatoes and a piece of chicken.