Biotest

Sick and Tired: Trying The V-Diet

To make a long story short… I was recently re-reading a book by Dan John and ran across one of his many articles and mentions of the Velocity Diet. I have found that I make progress in the fat loss arena only when it becomes a priority. The slow, steady routine that many people advocate doesn’t seem to work for me. That’s my n=1. So, after gaining a bunch over the last holiday, I decided to go to war.
My history is basically this, I am a 57 year old man, that has been fat most of my life. Last year I started lifting weights using barbells in my garage after going out to dinner with my wife and a friend and I watched an elderly lady struggle to get out of the SUV she was riding in and then not be able to shut the door. She was in a walker, and was frail. I resolved that I would not be a 60 year old man in a walker. So, I started lifting. I started out with Starting Strength, used the 5x5 program, then I found Wendler’s 5/3/1 which I followed for about a year. I lift in my garage by myself in a power rack, and when my squat hit 340, I honestly started getting a little scared of lifting that much weight by myself, so like a dummy, I took a week off… which turned in to 2 weeks, then 3months. I recently started lifting again, and have gone back to the Starting Strength program.
So, I started the Velocity Diet on Friday, January 13… I weighed in at 281 on Wednesday before starting the diet. I started this log to track my progress.