Biotest

Should I Do the V-Diet?

Hey man, im 5’11 around 168 lbs around 12-13% bf… should i do the V-Diet?

Let me peer into my crystal ball…

Seriously, post a pic and we’ll tell you. That honestly the best way for me to evaluate your actual body composition.

It would also tell me whether you’re male or female, 16 or 60, trained or untrained. Which is handy info to have.

ive been lifting for the past 4 years and im 18 years old… im gonna be going into my second year of college

Nah, I don’t think you need the V-Diet at all.

We have plenty of other training programs and diets in our archives that should fit your needs.

What are your main goals? Muscle gain, fat loss, athletic improvement?

my main goals are to both lose fat and gain muscle mass, which i know is difficult to do at the same time

That doable. I think the main key to building muscle while losing fat is to focus a lot of your carb considerations around the lifting period: peri-workout. Check out the <a href="http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_article/most_recent/one_hundred_gram_carb_cure"target=“new”>100 Gram Carb Cure.

The idea is to keep carbs low for most of the day, but pack them in around weight training where they’re really “put to work.”

Overall calories matter as well of course, but you only need 500-1000 over maintenance to build muscle. Another article for you here:

All that said, you look pretty lean to me, so don’t squander this time (being 18 years old) by overdoing the cardio or dieting too strictly all the time. I think you’ll find that with hard training and a clean diet, you can build muscle and drop some body fat at the same time without too much trouble.

what supplements would you reccomend?

[quote]steegerson wrote:
what supplements would you reccomend?[/quote]