Biotest

Seeking Advice on Food Choices

Hi, Chris I’ve been a member of T-Nation for a while and decided to change my username since people would have gotten a wrong impression about it.

Anyway, here’s a description of what Ive been up to. I’m 5’8", 165 lbs. I’ve lost 150 lbs from Feb 2009 until Feb 2011. Since then I miserably tried to bulk (wrong move for a FFB like me) & gained 12 pounds, most in my midsection, obviously I was frustrated cause I barely gained muscle and was spinning wheels with training programs.

I still have that damn loose skin in lower ab area and thighs and I’m trying to lose that the most that I can. I’m currently following an intermittent fasting plan, since I am a pharmacy student its really hard to plan meals and stuff, so dropping my meals from 6-7 to 4 has worked wonders for my stress levels.

A few months have come to pass and I have found your articles and your nutrition advices very insightful and straight to the point. I’ve thrown away my whole crap bread, but still eat Fiber One…but if you think it’s a waste due to the wheat stuff then I’ll throw that away as well. Skim milk is on the way to the trash as well, replacing it with unsweetened almond milk.

Most of my carbs are coming from sweet potatoes, rice, beans and oatmeal. Here are a few of my questions:
Do you recommend throwing all grains away or the bread and milk will suffice for now?

Should I avoid potatoes like the plague?

Should I avoid eating an X amount of dietary fat (fish oil, olive oil, coconut oil, etc.) in meals containing too much carbs (eg. 100g in one meal)?

I think I’ve found my carbs sweet spot (no more than 300g per day and that’s only when trying to gain, trying to lose fat now)

How much is too much carbs during peri workout nutrition? Can I replace Surge WF for dextrose + whey + leucine for intra workout until I can get Surge or a FFB like me should avoid these and stick to complex carbs?