Biotest

Reversing the Navy Trend

Here we go.

I’m a junior officer in the Royal Canadian Navy, in the military for six years–including a four year stint at Royal Military College (Canada’s answer to West Point, Annapolis and USAFA, all rolled into one). Not enough quality food, too much stress during courses, and mostly a complete lack of emphasis on physical fitness in the Navy took me from my physical peak (level 9 on the 20m shuttle run, ~55pushups, 75+situps, and able to run a half-marathon almost as fast as my infantry buddies) to where I sit now–barely above the minimum requirements for the PT test.

I played football for five years before I joined the military and did a lot of weightlifting so I do have a decent strength base, but while I did end up with solid endurance/cardio back in the day, right now it’s pretty much crap. One of my secondary duties is as leader of the second wave of the boarding party, so I need to do some tactical stuff and also look the part so when I tell the other somewhat unfit guys on the team that we ought to do some sports or other PT, they don’t tell me to bugger off.

Alongside a typical day is a lot like a normal office worker, but at sea I spend a lot of time standing on the bridge (up to 8 hours a day), walking around the ship, and the near-daily fire exercise where I usually end up playing firefighter.

My ultimate goal is to spend some time in the special forces. I don’t think I’ll want to spend the rest of my career there as I do like driving warships for a living, but it’s something I’ve always wanted to do and, since I was once almost fit enough to pass the pre-selection test, I figure with some hard work and some better nutrition I’ll be able to get back up there. And I feel like if I don’t try I’ll spend the rest of my life wondering how well I could have done.

Measurements Day 0

Height: 5’10"
Weight: 246lbs
Neck 15.75
Shoulders 51
Chest 45
Waist (at navel) 43
Hips 46
Upper Arm 15
Lower Arm 11.5
Thigh 27.75
Calf 19