Biotest

Random (Modified) V-Diet Thoughts

I’ve been doing a slightly modified version of the V-Diet for the past 2 weeks and I’m impressed with the results thus far. I’ve been doing paleo/low-carb for 3 years and lifting for ~10 years, so I’m pretty lean already (5’9, 170lb, I haven’t been above 10% BF in years). I recently spent a few weeks in Europe eating more gluten than I wanted to (i.e., any) and it took its toll on my digestion. Every food in europe is some incarnation of bread and sugar, so I just ended up not eating much food at all (I lost about 5-6 pounds that month), but at times it was unavoidable. I frequently do 24 hour fasts, but I usually break the fast with lots of meat, butter, veggies, and berries, not sugary garbage.

To “reset” myself, I ate well above maintenance calories for a week after returning (a friend’s wedding feast helped!) and then embarked on a version of Dr. Eades’ intenstinal repair protocol: liquid protein diet + glutamine and probiotic supplementation to repair damage done by gluten. I have coupled this approach with the V-Diet before with great results. All I do is the regular V-Diet with a few changes (below) and supplement with lots of glutamine (20-30g/day) and a stronger-than-usual probiotic.

I changed a few things from the prescribed V-Diet. Here they are:

-No HOT-ROX. I absolutely cannot stand strong stimulants. I cannot even finish a medium starbucks coffee without considering checking myself into the ER, so anything more than 100mg of caffeine in a day is completely out of the question for me.

-3 shakes a day, not 6. I’ve done intermittent fasting for years (I only eat for 8 hours a day) and I hate eating in the morning. The “eat 6 meals a day” thing has little scientific evidence behind it and provides me with no psychological benefit, so I have a shake at noon, a shake at 4, and a shake at 8. Each shake is 3 and 1/3 scoops of Metabolic Drive, giving me 220g protein/day.