Biotest

Powerlifter Doing the V-Diet

Hi, my name is Joey and I have been powerlifting for a bit over 2 years now. I weigh 265 at between 6’0 and 6’1", not sure exactly… dunno bodyfat, but higher than I would like.

Two weeks ago we had a competition that I weighed in at 272. It was a push/pull and my best lifts there were a 335 bench which was too easy. Also a 620 deadlift, and I missed 635 at lockout. My best squat is 510, and Military Press is 200.

Here are the videos from the competition:

I would like to drop down to compete in the 242 class again while staying leaner. My main concern is strength on this diet. I’m nervous about it but it’s also an experiment and I want to see how it turns out. I’ve been advised that doing a longer drawn out, slow diet approach would get me there with less strength decrease. My thoughts are that if I can get to where I want to be in a month, then start eating healthier and just maintaining my weight, I could start increasing my strength again, even if it drops a little. A longer diet could take 3-4 months I would think to drop 15-20 lbs at a really slow pace. So that’s one of my reasons behind choosing this diet. The other reason is that I don’t really enjoy spending ridiculous amounts of time preparing 6 super clean meals a day. I’ve done a diet like that before for a couple months, and it gets pretty old and time consuming.

One other thing, is that I’m getting married in a couple months and want to be in better condition for that and the honeymoon cruise. :slight_smile:

I am going to do the intermediate program, but SLIGHTLY modified. Since I have two training partners and we run 5/3/1 three days a week together on a MWFM rotation, and I still want to lift with them at least on the main lift of the day.

Here is my plan:

Military Press 5/3/1
(8-9RM day)
Bent Over Barbell Row
Reverse Lunge
BB Curl

Squat 5/3/1
(4-5RM day)
Chin-up
Dumbell Bench
Ab Wheel

Bench press 5/3/1
(8-9RM day)
Bent Over Dumbell Row
Walking Lunge