Biotest

Newbie Needs Training Advice

I plan on beginning the V-Diet on Monday, and I had a training question. I will be doing the advanced workout because I have been lifting 3 or 4 days a week for about 4 years. The gym I work out in is a small local gym that has weight bars, but no squat rack, nor will I necessarily have a spot available. I guess I will have to do my overhead squats with the Smith machine. What do you think about that? Does it make a difference? I am female, by the way, if that matters.

Thanks!

Rather than the Smith, use dumbbells. A “free” squat is better than a machine squat.

I would recommend you stay away from the smith machine as a general rule. Don’t know your exact situation, but if you have options, I would suggest you switch gyms. Doesn’t sound like a very good place to workout at if you can’t squat.
What type of weightlifting program(s) have you been doing for the last 4 years? Have you been making steady progress? What are your goals?

I live in a small town–only 3500 people–and this gym is a pretty well-equipped, but there are space limitations. I have been working out here for a little over a year. I was driving 30 miles (one way) to a nearby city a few times a week to work out at Gold’s. I worked with an amazing trainer for 1 1/2 years there who has done the V-Diet himself to shed the weight he put on while prepping for a powerlifting meet. I do have the option of using the weight room of the high school at which I teach–there are plenty of squat racks there! But no ab wheel, which is part of the same workout.

I lift pretty heavy for a 44-year-old woman. I have been doing full-body superset workouts lately in order to build muscle and burn fat. I run quite a bit, anywhere from 2.5 to 5 miles at a time. Sometimes I do a bleacher workout at the high school track since it’s right there. I usually take only one complete day off a week.