Biotest

Keto Question: 100 Grams of Carbs

Hey Chris,

I’m not an expert, but i was wondering about the 100g carb rue of thumb you have. I’m trying a modified Anabolic/TKD in which I have only trace carbs/veggies, plus a finibar before lifting. I’m gonna hit around 80g carb per day. Wouldn’t it be better, however, to fully drop into ketosis That way, my body would begin using fat for fuel instead of carbs, which I’d only have a small amount of anyway.

The way I see it, if I go fully into keto, my body will be switching from diesel to unleaded, but if I just stay low carb w/out going keto, my body will be running on fumes. Am i right, or am i grossly oversimplifying? Also, if I DO stay with the 80g carbs, would a FINiBAR pre and a scoop of Grow! Whey post be enough? Thanks

Here’s my big picture opinion: Ketosis isn’t necessary for fast fast loss. Yet ketosis generally makes people feel like crap. So why go keto if there’s no real advantage to it over something that’s more practical and works just as well, like 100g of carbs per day or the V-Diet?

i hear you…i’m actually one of the few people who are attempting to put on mass using a TKD approach. I’m going to do something around: 3,500-4000 cals, 80g carb, 250g fat, 220g pro per day on lifting days…Just going to give it a shot for a few weeks. But yeah, just thought that even though keto prob sucks, at least the body would be more efficiently utilizing its resources than if it werent in keto and was receiving such a small number of carbs

When I do a V-Diet, I go into ketosis big time within 2 days, and I don’t feel like crap. I guess I’ve been doing low carb long enough that I’ve adapted and don’t feel the crappy side anymore. Admittedly, the first time I tried the Atkins Induction Diet many years ago, I did feel really crappy for a couple days.