Biotest

CrossFit, Oly Lifting, and the V-Diet?

Yes, this is my first post, but please don’t discredit me because I’m “new”. I am new to T-Nation and this forum, but have been lifting for 10+ years and have competed (and placed well) in multiple figure competitions - so I’m not “really” a newbie. Also, I’ve been reading the T-Nation forums for a few weeks so I’m not asking a question w/o having done my research first :slight_smile:

I REALLY want to do a 6-week V-Diet cycle for the following reasons:

~I want to shred to see the body transformations that Olympic Lifting has created over the last 6 months

~The convenience and lack of cooking/measuring/planning is VERY appealing to me

~I’ve got a good muscle base, but have put on about 15-20 lbs of “padding” over the winter - ready to lose that padding!

My current workout schedule is:

M 6am - Olympic Lifting, 7am CrossFit
T 6am - Olympic Lifting, 7am CrossFit
W 6am - Olympic Lifting, 7am Crossfit
T 6am - Olympic Lifting
F 7am - Crossfit
S 8am - Olympic Lifting (Totals), 9:30am Crossfit
S Rest Day

My Olympic Lifting is done under a great coach with tons of experience that pushes me to my limits while being a Nazi about form to ensure I don’t hurt myself. I lift with two other girls that have been lifting (Olympic) about a year longer than me, and also help to push me b/c of my severly competitive nature. My lifting coach is also the Crossfit Facility Owner, and he does not just throw “random” workouts together, but rather spaces them out to avoid overworking one body part or another.

By the way - I read Shugart’s article on Crossfit, and really appreciate the nuetral tone. I thought it was very accurate and informative.

Here’s my only concern about the V-Diet (for me):

~I see that cardio is not included in the workout regimen (other than NEPA), and lifting is limited to 3 days/week.