Biotest

Best Supplement for Baseball?

Greetings T-Nation,

Newbie here. I am a 17-yr. old rising senior in high school. I am a pitcher being recruited by a handful of Division I and several Division III schools and would like to improve my strength and overall performance. I am 6’2" and weigh about 190 lbs. I would categorize my physique as “soft” with some excess body fat and poor flexibility. Despite my limitations, I am pretty good pitcher (being left-handed helps).

I’ve been lifting since May (utilizing a specific weight lifting and throwing program aimed at improving velocity). The program involves rigorous throws using weighted baseballs and specific weight lifting exercises (e.g., dead lifts, front squats, reverse lunges, Zottman curls, etc.).

My supplements are basic. I take Millenium’s CRE creatine tablets 45 minutes prior to lifting and drink a generic (Whole Foods brand) whey protein shake following my workout. I try to watch my carbs and protein intake but pizza gets the best of me.

I am making the switch to Biotest supplements to not only help me with my workouts but also in game performance (pitching competitively in various Summer tournaments, showcases and school prospect camps).

I am placing an order for the following to start:

Plazma for pre-workout
MAG-10 for post-workout and in the morning on non-lifting days.

I want to start slow (one scoop of Plazma and one serving of MAG-10) to gauge my results and then make adjustments. I will probably add Indigo 3G later on but want to assess the Plazma/MAG-10 combo first.

I know both of these supplements come highly recommended for their impact on weight training, recovery and improved muscle gain; however, which (if any) of these two supplements is best when I take the mound and pitch competitively? If neither is optimal, is there another Biotest product you recommend?

I’d appreciate your thoughts on my plan and recommendation for in game performance.

Thanks in advance.

[quote]Gables wrote: