Biotest

BeastFromTheEast's V-Diet Log

I’ve been on the V-Diet for two days. So far, it’s proving quite interesting.

First, a little bit about my background and motivations:

I’m an amateur wrestler by training. I worked my way up from 167/160 when I started, through 174/184/197 by the time I was done. Then I graduated, and tried to run and weight train on my own, but with no real pressure to keep an eye on my diet or my weight.

I moved on and did Gracie jiu-jitsu and submission grappling for a while, and competed a fair bit - where I once weighed in for a tournament at 265, for the ‘super-super-heavyweight’ class. (Yes, that’s really what it’s called, though what they really mean is ‘Unlimited’. :wink: Now I’m into Muay Thai (thai boxing), and it’s just not safe for me to compete against people that size anymore - they’re going to punch me in the head way too hard. =)

Next, a few comments about my training program:

I’m not a really big fan of weight training at all. I just don’t find it very fulfilling. I much prefer combat sports (things like wrestling/jiu-jitsu/Muay Thai, obviously :wink: . When I’m not doing those, I do things that involve competing directly against nature (canoeing, rafting, rock climbing) or much more enjoyably competing against other people (Ultimate Frisbee).

So I’ve elected to attend our (fairly rigorous) Muay Thai workouts 3x a week for my exercise, rather than the V-Diet Training Program. (I usually only make it once or twice per week, so this is an important step up for me. =)

I do still intend to do the V-Burn challenge, though, if only because those calisthenics are so similar to the warm-up exercises we do for Muay Thai that I couldn’t possibly come up with anything to rationalize my way out of them. :wink:

I have three primary goals for this diet:

1. I want to train myself to eat 5 small meals per day. (I feel that once I make that a permanent habit, I will have a much easier time keeping excess weight off in the future.)