Biotest

BCAA instead of Surge

Thrilled with my V-Diet results having just finished the transition phase. I am using Precision Nutrition program for the next 6 weeks to see how it works as a maintenance program. My goal is to continue losing fat, lose being irritated, and gain strength.

Oddly enough I am an endomorph per the various guides I have read. As such the PN program recommends using just BCAA instead of Surge, due to a likelihood of inefficient handling of carbs.

I have never used BCAA’s before and looking at the label/dosage instructions I am not sure how I would mix it for a workout. Would it be ok to mix it with a scoop of Metabolic Drive?

I also saw somewhere a suggestion of mixing BCAA with iced green tea?

Thanks!

I believe that the Precision Nutrition program was put together well before the introduction of Anaconda and MAG-10, or more precisely that it hasn’t been updated to reflect these. I would look to using MAG-10 rather than a protocol with BCAA’s and Metabolic Drive or any other drink.

The modest amount of carbs MAG-10 will aid you, rather than be a problem of any kind, even if you may have inefficient handling of carbs.

If you do want to mix BCAA’s with things such as green tea, this can be done, though BCAA’s tend to be slow to dissolve and can give the impression of not dissolving.

Plain BCAAs would be inferior to a precisely formulated workout nutrition formula. And gaining muscle and strength without the right carbs around workout time would be an uphill battle. (Tried it myself in my carb-fearing days.)

But from what you’re saying, it seems like your problem is dysfunctional nutrient uptake mechanisms, like you store carbs as body fat more than other people, and you can only seem to stay lean on a lower carb plan. Right? The good news: that’s fixable.