Biotest

Are You Serious About This Velocity Diet?

I have been reading T-Nation for a long time and I have reading the article about the Velocity Diet. I am not trying to get flamed on this but I have to ask, How the hell can you just drink 5 protein shakes a day?

Are you fing serious about this? I am all for dieting, but 25 protein shakes for monday through friday. I am no expert but arent whole foods much more health than protein powder? This almost seems like an unrealistic push for Biotest products. I opened this topic for discussion, I just want to see what everyone else thinks.

Take the diet of the average American and tell me how their daily food consumption is better than mine on the velocity diet. And I’m only doing this for 28 days before I go back to eating whole meals.

I have done this before and the last time I got my lipid profile done before and after the v-diet and all of my numbers improved (bad cholesterol went down, good actually went up slightly…which is hard to do, and my triglycerides were low) after the diet.

Ok, so I dug around and found my test results from last time. Granted, this is only one aspect of things but I was happy with it.

I did the V-Diet from 1 - 28 November 2006. Had my first test done on 1 November with the following results (normal, acceptable values listed in parenthesis):

total cholesterol: 99 (120-199)
LDL: 60 (60-129)
HDL: 33 (35-70)
Triglyceride: 32 (30-204)

So everything looked pretty good. Cholesterol was a little low and HDL was low as well. Note that it is relatively “easy” to lower your bad cholesterol (LDL) but hard to actually raise the good one (HDL).

I had the test run again on 6 DEC 06 with the following results:

total cholesterol: 110
LDL: 65
HDL: 37
Triglyceride: 40

Everything else in my lipid profile was within acceptable ranges but I’m not listing them because honestly, I don’t know what they mean.