Biotest

Androgen, PA, mTOR Relationship Question

I feel like an idiot.

I’m so fascinated with the biochemical science of muscle growth, but I’m finding that I am simply not very adept yet at deciphering the technical documentation available out there. My biochemistry and biology prowess is sorely lacking.

As an engineer, I see things systematically. But to understand the system, one has to understand some of the nitty gritty details, details that are specific to the genre one is trying to analyze systematically. I see things as I/O signals, mathematical transfer functions, and computational logic. Amazingly, so much biology can also be seen this way, but the technical documentation isn’t written with engineering in mind (as it shouldn’t) and the jargon requires alot of interesting research.

For the life of me, I am having a hard time knowing if what I’m researching is being properly interpreted by me. In this case, its the relationship between androgen (testosterone for example) and mTOR.

The more I look at mTOR, it appears that it is the primary governor of protein synthesis of which muscle growth is under. Just mTOR. It appears that androgens and related hormonal influences govern signally of Akt, but ultimately Akt is yet another stimulator of mTOR for muscle growth.

I have indicated in another post the “equation” I believe governs muscle growth:

muscle growth = f[mTOR]

• This is to be read as “muscle growth equal a function dependent upon mTOR signaling”.

mTOR = summation[leucine_concentration, growth_factors, PA, other, A, B, C, D]

where

• mTOR is mTOR signal amplitude
  • summation […] is a summation function
  • leucine_concentration is, yes, the leucine concentration in blood
  • growth_factors are things like androgen (testosterone) concentration, IGF-1, insulin concentration, growth hormone concentration, etc. Again, it seems like androgens primarily contribute to mTOR via stimulation of Akt.